Easy Or Cheap Blog Traffic?

Recently there has been a burst of sites that help to increase traffic on your blog. Most of these sites have a membership scheme, where you are read only if you read. This sounds like a good ecosystem where participation is rewarded.

I too have been drawn by them, this blog is a member of such services (listed in Affiliations in the sidebar). The results are immediate, I saw a surge in the views and hits on my blog. And then it stopped, ofcourse because I was not doing my bit of surfing through the services. The problem is that I have my daily dose of reading, on my favourite sites. This extra bit taxes me, and is more work to do. Unfortuntely it turns out to be frustrating when the random blog I am surfing is nothing relevant to my interests. Which is what brought me to this question – Would I surf just for accumulating the credits so that others will read my blog? Blogging has been, for me at least, a package of reading, expressing opinions and discussions. Do these services take away this? No doubt, I have come across some excellent blogs on these sites. This is the whole point though! The problem is not with quality content but quality traffic. If I am ready to surf for credits, others might be too, and then they might not be interested in my blog or content or its quality. If this becomes dominant, then you-scratch-my-back-I-will-scratch-yours will be the key to blog ranks rather than its content.

There is no reason to not accumulate credits through surfing, but it should not be the primary purpose. The services should somehow (I have no idea how) make sure that the joy of surfing is not corrupted. For now I am going to continue to use them as a blogger and reader, both. I will make sure that I get credits while I am surfing, but I am going to surf to enjoy my stay on the web. What do you say?

Technorati tags: ,

Copyright Abhijit Nadgouda.

11 Responses to “Easy Or Cheap Blog Traffic?”

  1. rob Says:

    Most surfers on Blogexplosion or other sites are not interested in the content of your site. Just look at the stats and find out how long they stay. Most stay for the required 20-25 seconds and then leave. Once in a blue moon, you will have someone who will read one article and stay for a few minutes.

    The premise of such traffic exchange sites is to build readership slowly, very very slowly. Sometimes I come across a site and ignore it, but after some time, I see the same site over and over again, then I might read a few paragraphs. If it’s interesting, then I will bookmark it. This can take months.

    Traffic exchange sites should not be your only avenue of gathering readers.

  2. The Ultimate Groupie Says:

    At buyagroupie.blogspot.com, you can buy 100 comments for $10.00. The best way to have someone seriously read your blog is to leave thoughtful comments on others’ sites, and buyagroupie does that for you.

  3. USELESS MAN Says:

    Good content always draws readers. Comments work too, although saying that as I comment sounds like I’m trolling for visits…

    Good discussion. Thanks for sharing!

  4. USELESS MAN Says:

    Was that better than simply saying I’m easy AND cheap?

  5. peg Says:

    This will probably sound a little crazy, but I am still questioning the assumption behind increasing blog traffic. I am not convinced that it’s the starting point. Why, really, is that really and truly a positive outcome — what’s the reason for the desire?

  6. Abhijit Nadgouda Says:

    rob: I agree that it can build the viewership slowly, but what percentage is looking at reading and not building credits through this?

    Useless Man: (I hope I could address you better) Comments are important as much as the content itself for blogging, the discussions that ensue provide immense value.

    peg: I cannot say for others, but personally, I feel better when I am read. It satisfies urge of the writer inside me. But it need not be the same for everyone.

  7. Abhijit Nadgouda Says:

    Ultimate Groupie: I agree that comments are definitely important, the comments should be out of your urge/will to comment on what you are reading, not for building your own traffic. The comment has to be justified to give be fair to the article and the author.

    Don’t take me wrong, but I was very close to marking your comment as spam, but I felt it did highlight importance of comments.

  8. Collin Says:

    As I have stated over on my blog (see my comment on your latest entry) I write because I enjoy writing. Most of it may be complete poppycock, but it satisfies me to write and whether people read it or not is (not entirely, but close to) irrelevant to me.

    I have a blog (or two) here at wp.com and I rarely even look at the stats.

    I signed up for a couple of affiliate sites when I first started blogging, and have to admit that I use Technorati, but I haven’t actually used or linked to them since then.

    I tag for Technorati because it’s a lazy way of finding out what other people are saying on the same subjects as I write rather than “advertising” for readers.

  9. Abhijit Nadgouda Says:

    Hi Collin,

    Probably these affiliations provide temporary elations.

    My intention is a little more than writing though. I want others to read what I write, and comment if required. It is way of reaching out and discussing with them.

  10. The Ultimate Groupie Says:

    In hind sight, posting that comment here was probably a bad idea. It relates to your posting, because comments are definitely important in getting initial traffic. Now that I look at it, it does seem like spamming :)

    I think the answer to your question is two-fold. It depends on the purpose of the blogger. Some bloggers just want to express and share their ideas with the blogosphere, and others want to share ideas too but also want to be compensated a little along the way.

    Traffic exchange sites like Blogexplosion or Blogclicker don’t help in the long run, but they certainly help beginners. Also, I have used traffic exchange sites for my personal blog site when I have a contest that has time constraints. Commenting on others’ blogs is also a temporary solution. The key is still the blogger’s content.

    For example, I had two ‘customers’ who bought the same amount of comments. While both experienced an increase in traffic, the ‘customer’ with the less-then-desirable content only had a temporary increase. In the end, it was money wasted. I want to believe all bloggers know that content is king, it has been emphasized enough times on numerous blogs. But, when it comes down to it, it is much easier to post ify content and put a temp patch on the traffic problem.

    For the bloggers who are after a few dollars while blogging, content becomes even more important. You need targeted traffic, especially ones sent to your site via search engines. The only way to do this is to by writing a lot, writing often, and writing great content.

    I have recently given up on using traffic exchange sites on my personal blog; if you want to find out why, you can go to

    http://fullchangejar.blogspot.com/2006_02_01_fullchangejar_archive.html

    and scroll alllllll the way down to my posting titled “Good Bye to Blog Explosion, Blog Clickers, Blog Advance, etc, etc”, where I talk about my experiences with this traffic problem. It’s only my take on it.

    Oh, and by all means mark this as spam if you ever feel that something I post crosses the line.

  11. Abhijit Nadgouda Says:

    Hi Ultimate Groupie,

    Yes, content is the king, and commenting and reading are ways of interacting with others. All I hope is that the blog traffic sites don’t promote the wrong kind of traffic, where surfing is for credits and not for knowing more – it beats the basic purpose of blogging.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

